What are you wearing?

A couple months ago I received ‘spiritual’ permission to shop for new clothes. It had to be permission because I genuinely considered the need for the clothes and while I usually do impromptu shopping which would leave me with guilt, this time I was buying clothes online with no guilt. It’s like I was so free from worrying about over-shopping. And having been freed from credit card indebtedness for almost a year now (PRAISE GOD!), I was not relying on debt at all for these purchases. I was buying from my income and I am still baffled as to how much the money stretched based on what I bought.

So now, in my closet you will find new, brightly coloured clothes like I was inspired to purchase and I surely look fabulous in them! So what do I want to tell you about this experience?

I am being adorned and clothed with new garments. I was not only inspired to purchase clothes on Walmat, Amazon and local stores, but I have been inspired to wear clothes that I hardly wear and have in my closet for a very long time. So these days, I make sure I adorn myself because…that’s what I believe the Lord wants me to do.

As the Lord would have it, on Sunday, October 27, 2019,  the Lord used Bishop McLean to speak again (to me) concerning instructions related to how I adorn myself. The Word of God says there is such a thing as a “garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness” Isaiah 61:3.

 

 

garment of praise

The spoken word also referred to Leviticus 21:10

10 And he that is the high priest among his brethren, upon whose head the anointing oil was poured, and that is consecrated to put on the garments, shall not uncover his head, nor rend his clothes;

So, I remain committed to what I believe is God’s plan to fit on His new garments on me. There are garments of lies that others have tried to put on me and they have only served to weigh me down. There are garments of character misalignment that folks have tried to put on me. When you relate to folks and they exclaim ‘I didn’t know you are this nice’…. you know they heard a lie. The lies can cause you to be unrecognizable because people sometimes believe the lies they tell.

This time, my Lord is changing my garments because He recognizes that I have been wearing garments that I really should not!

People may have reason to misjudge you. They may have reason to try to obstruct your path to fulfilling God’s purpose in your life and many times, if you are not careful, you could believe the lies they tell about you.

I have cried as I inquired of the Lord. I have asked, ‘what’s wrong with me?’ ‘am I really who they say I am?’ ‘how could I not see this in me?’ All questions I have asked because I just do not see some of the things they purport of my character.

But you know, the Lord expects us to listen to the feedback from others.

31 The ear that hears the rebukes of life
Will abide among the wise.
32 He who disdains instruction despises his own soul,
But he who heeds rebuke gets understanding.
33 The fear of the Lord is the instruction of wisdom,
And before honor is humility. Proverbs 15:31-33

Nonetheless, be wise. Know what you accept and what to reject. People will clothe you with their lies and expect you to walk around in that garment to satisfy their disdain for your life. Begin to recognize when these garments do not fit. Watch out for these lies.

I am learning that I should accept criticisms and feedback but always inquire of the Lord concerning what has been said. There is nothing that anyone can say to you that is intended to build you up, but only serve to tear you apart. If you are starting to feel torn apart and ashamed, watch yourself. The word in Proverbs 15: 33 says that humility should burst through and then honour!

And my, what a better way for us to receive honour than to know that the Most High is interested in adorning you with the garment of praise…in my case both literally and spiritually. Needless to say, the heaviness is slowly being lifted and I strip off the garments of lies and embrace the woman the Lord sees in me. I am adorned with the garment of praise!

So, what are you wearing my dearests?

One response to “What are you wearing?”

Leave a comment

Discover more from The FavouRite Woman

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading